Ohio State mens soccers Chris Hegngi named to Hermann Trophy watch list

Ohio State men’s soccer’s Chris Hegngi is adding another line to his resume after being named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List Tuesday. The Buckeyes’ senior forward, who was the 2011 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, is one of 42 other male athletes named to the award’s watch list. The Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer and honors college men’s and women’s soccer’s best players. OSU men’s soccer coach John Bluem said Hegngi is coming off “an exceptional season.” “After leading the conference in scoring last season, I think this recognition is a testament to how much talent that takes in the Big Ten,” Bluem said in a statement. “All the pieces are certainly in place for him to have continued success in his final season as a Buckeye.” Hegngi started to make his mark at OSU as early as his freshman year. In 2009, his first season as a Buckeye, Hegngi was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team and started in all 21 of OSU’s games that year. In fact, Hegngi has started in the last 39 of 41 games for OSU. The senior is the third Buckeye in history up for the award. In 2011, Columbus Crew keeper and then-All-Big Ten goalie Matt Lampson was named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List. Four years earlier, defender Eric Brunner, who was a member of OSU’s NCAA College Cup runner-up squad in 2007, also found himself on the award’s watch list. The award, which is presented by the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) in St. Louis, will announce its male and female recipients on Jan. 11. The Buckeyes open their 2012 campaign at Dayton, Aug. 24 at 7:30 p.m. Hegngi did not immediately respond to The Lantern‘s request for comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *